Reasons to Join ATHEA

Reasons to Join ATHEA

ATHEA focuses on institutional accreditation with a transnational approach in compliance with the Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance in the European Higher Education Area (ESG).

Which Higher Education Institutions (HEI) should join ATHEA?

  • HEIs (Universities, Colleges, Business Schools, etc.) who would like to
    strengthen their internal and external Quality Assurance System based on the ESG
  • HEIs who seek institutional accreditation in a specific country in the European Higher Education Area
  • HEIs who are degree-granting
  • HEIs who seek institutional accreditation
  • HEIs who operate in more than one country (cross-border, international, transnational)

Institutions that qualify for Institutional Membership are welcome to join.

The three steps for accreditation are:

  • Institutional Membership
  • Candidate for Accreditation
  • ATHEA Accredited


ATHEA intends to be listed on the EQAR European Quality Assurance Register shortly. Benefits for higher education institutions (HEI) were identified as follows:

Before ATHEA is listed on EQAR As soon as ATHEA is listed on EQAR
Institutions benefit from a strengthened institutional quality assurance system in line with the ESG and the Bologna Process.

This includes

  • internal and external quality assurance,
  • compliance with educational frameworks based on the Dublin descriptors,
  • the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS),
  • stakeholder focus,
  • outcome-based performance evaluation,
  • and an appropriate governance system of the institution.
  • networking and topic-oriented collaboration (e.g. faculty and student exchange, research, publications) between institutions are additional benefits.
In some countries, this will fulfill the requirement for a license to operate for the HEI.

Depending on the country an HEI is operating in,

  • this should translate into recognition as a locally operating HEI without further national accreditation or auditing,
  • with full recognition of the degrees according to the European Network of Information Centres – National Academic Recognition Information Centres (ENIC/NARIC),
  • securing local recognition of degrees and upward mobility for students within the Bologna system.